To make online payments more secure for consumers and businesses, the European Payment Services Directive2 (PSD2) has added Strong Customer Authentication (SCA).

This regulation applies to all online transactions where both the cardholder’s bank and the merchant’s payment service providers are located in the European Economic Area (EEA).

What is Strong Customer Authentication (SCA)?

SCA is a new form of two-factor authentication that introduces an additional level of security for online payments and takes effect on December 31, 2020.

This implies future online transactions being verified by two factors. For example, by password/PIN and a token.

What will change by online payments?

Online payments that were formerly paid with credit card and security number (PIN) will be extended by a second security factor (2FA).

As a purchaser you will now require two of these three factors:

  • Knowledge: Password, PIN
  • Possession: Smart card, TAN generator, registered smartphone
  • Inherence: Fingerprint, facial features
Which online payments are excluded from Strong Customer Authentication (SCA)?

The new SCA rule only applies to payment processes that are carried out online.

Excluded from this rule are:

  • SEPA direct debits
  • Invoices
  • Prepayment
  • Amounts up to 30 Euro.
  • Recurring transactions (e.g.: subscriptions – only the first transaction requires SCA).

Source : Official Avira Brand
Editor by : BEST Antivirus KBS Team

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)
Discover More help  What do the options under extended threat categories mean? (Avira)